Vettel again on top in final practice

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Singapore, Marina Bay Street Circuitsg

Sebastian Vettel proved fastest yet again in the final practice for the Singaporean Grand Prix. The German already topped yesterday's two session and continued his domination on the super soft tyre. Lewis Hamilton was second fastest, Alonso third.

The session kicked off with the usual installation laps and the first time was set 13 minutes into the session as Kamui Kobayashi lapped the Marina Bay circuit in 1:56.339.

5 minutes later his teammate at Sauber, Sergio Pérez scrubbed the wall and returned to the pits to check his car. There was no obvious damage though.

Halfway into the session, Timo Glock hit the barrier and caused a yellow flag. Apparently his Marussia car had the throttle stuck open, allowing him only to push the brakes and hope the car slowed down.

Felipe Massa meanwhile changed the visor on his helmet to get better visibility as the darkness fell. He promptly noted to Nigel Stepney, his race engineer, that it was a considerable improvement.

Before the top teams went out on the supersoft tyres, Alonso was on top of the timesheets. The Spaniard however struggled to get traction out of the corners on the softer tyre, unable to match Vettel's blistering pace on the supersofts.

When Petrov then got stuck on the pitlane entry after hitting the wall, the session was red flagged and could not be restarted for more flying laps. This meant Vettel's lap was unchallenged, and the top 3 is identical to Friday.


11Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault1:47.947-15
24Lewis HamiltonMcLaren-Mercedes1:48.2720.32515
35Fernando AlonsoFerrari1:48.6230.67611
412Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes1:48.8590.91216
59Kimi RäikkönenLotus-Renault1:48.8650.91817
66Felipe MassaFerrari1:49.4581.51113
711Paul di RestaForce India-Mercedes1:49.6841.73715
88Nico RosbergMercedes1:49.6991.75216
919Bruno SennaWilliams-Renault1:49.7151.76814
107Michael SchumacherMercedes1:49.9812.03414
112Mark WebberRed Bull Racing-Renault1:50.1102.16312
123Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1:50.5242.57710
1316Daniel RicciardoStr-Ferrari1:50.6642.71716
1414Kamui KobayashiSauber-Ferrari1:50.7772.83015
1510Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault1:50.8402.89315
1618Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Renault1:51.0123.06515
1717Jean-Eric VergneStr-Ferrari1:51.0593.11217
1815Sergio PerezSauber-Ferrari1:51.2723.32510
1925Charles PicMarussia-Cosworth1:52.2904.34316
2021Vitaly PetrovCaterham-Renault1:53.7815.83412
2120Heikki KovalainenCaterham-Renault1:54.3266.37914
2223Narain KarthikeyanHrt-Cosworth1:54.4216.47414
2324Timo GlockMarussia-Cosworth1:54.6306.6839
2422Pedro de la RosaHrt-Cosworth1:54.8756.92814