Mercedes easily fastest in first practice at Brazil

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Brazil, Autódromo José Carlos Pace, Interlagosbr

Mercedes got off to a comfortable start at Sao Paulo as it saw both its drivers end the first practice session on top of the timesheet. Lewis Hamilton was the faster of both, with Bottas little more than a tenth down on this year's World Champion.

Both Mercedes drivers repeatedly swapped positions until Hamilton eventually went fastest in the closing stages of the session.

On one of the shortest circuits on the F1 calendar, there were no other cars the proved a match. Kimi Raikkonen in the Ferrari came closest, but was still more than half a second down on the pace setter when the 90-minute session came to a close.

The duo of Verstappen and Ricciardo were up next on the eventual timing board, ahead of Sebastian Vettel in the second Ferrari.

Felipe Massa, kicking off his last home race of his F1 career was 7th fastest, ahead of the McLarens and Esteban Ocon's Force India as they completed the top 10.

Further down the pecking order, there was again major trouble for Toro Rosso as both their cars encountered technical issues. Brendon Hartley had another spectacular Renault engine failure on only his second lap of the day. Team mate Pierre Gasley had a seperate issue that forced him to stay in the garage after completing 5 laps. Like Ricciardo, yet another Renault powered driver, both were already facing grid penalties.


144Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG1:09.202-36
277Valtteri BottasMercedes AMG1:09.329+0.127s43
37Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:09.744+0.542s32
433Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing TAG Heuer1:09.750+0.548s31
53Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing TAG Heuer1:09.828+0.626s38
65Sebastian VettelFerrari1:09.984+0.782s32
719Felipe MassaWilliams Mercedes1:10.102+0.900s28
82Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Honda1:10.402+1.200s26
931Esteban OconForce India Mercedes1:10.454+1.252s36
1014Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Honda1:10.476+1.274s24
1118Lance StrollWilliams Mercedes1:10.632+1.430s42
1235George RussellForce India Mercedes1:11.047+1.845s29
138Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:11.188+1.986s29
1420Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:11.463+2.261s30
1555Carlos SainzRenault1:11.467+2.265s32
1627Nico HulkenbergRenault1:11.608+2.406s35
1737Charles LeclercSauber Ferrari1:11.802+2.600s32
189Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari1:11.898+2.696s28
1910Pierre GaslyToro Rosso1:14.034+4.832s5
2028Brendon HartleyToro Rosso--2