Ferrari dominate FP2 at Bahrain

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Bahrain, Bahrain International Circuitbh

It must have been some sort of a signal that Red Bull were ahead with Ricciardo on midday, as Ferrari comfortably dominated the second free practice session at Sakhir, Bahrain. Kimi Raikkonen proved fastest, a sigh ahead of Sebastian Vettel.

Behind the two Ferrari drivers is are the Mercedes's of Bottas and Hamilton, both more than half a second behind, whereas Red Bull Racing saw its closely matched driver duo be nearly a second down on the pace setting scarlet cars.

FP2 saw none of the front runners use the soft red-marked tyres. On that compound, the Ferrari seemed much more settled, with Raikkonen and Vettel seemingly driving the car with ease. This proved a bit of a contrast to their competitors, with Hamilton notably struggling somewhat with the rear of the car.

Behind the top 6, Nico Hulkenberg proved 7th fastest, nearly 1.5 seconds down. Pierre Gasly, Fernando Alonso and Stoffel Vandoorne completed the top 10.

Romain Grosjean missed out on the top 10 in his Haas, followed by the second Renault steered by Carlos Sainz. The Spaniard was chased by both Force India cars who made steady progress after an extremely poor FP1 showing.

The pink cars left Kevin Magnussen behind, who leads Sauber and Williams. For the latter, Bahrain was set to be a difficult track as the team continues to struggle with overheating on its car, despite opening up the rear end a bit more.


17Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:29.817-32
25Sebastian VettelFerrari1:29.828+0.011s37
377Valtteri BottasMercedes AMG1:30.380+0.563s31
444Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG1:30.472+0.655s32
533Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing TAG Heuer1:30.745+0.928s32
63Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing TAG Heuer1:30.751+0.934s31
727Nico HulkenbergRenault1:31.220+1.403s34
810Pierre GaslyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:31.232+1.415s38
914Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Renault1:31.282+1.465s29
102Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren Renault1:31.422+1.605s35
118Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:31.591+1.774s33
1255Carlos SainzRenault1:31.601+1.784s34
1331Esteban OconForce India Mercedes1:31.809+1.992s31
1411Sergio PerezForce India Mercedes1:31.868+2.051s34
1520Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:31.969+2.152s35
1616Charles LeclercSauber Ferrari1:32.372+2.555s37
1718Lance StrollWilliams Mercedes1:32.382+2.565s30
1835Sergey SirotkinWilliams Mercedes1:32.474+2.657s37
199Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari1:32.733+2.916s32
2028Brendon HartleyScuderia Toro Rosso Honda1:32.908+3.091s38