Hamilton tops first practice session at Singapore

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Singapore, Marina Bay Street Circuitsg

The first free practice session of the Singapore Grand Prix kicked off at dusk. The drivers got on track to get to know the new street circuit and to get used to racing under artificial light. Lewis Hamilton was the fastest man on track and was followed by Ferrari duo Felipe Massa and Kimi Raikkonen.

Mark Webber was the first to make a big mistake and crashed as he entered the tunnel at the Marina Bay street circuit. In the meantime Scuderia Toro Rosso driver Sebastien Bourdais complained over the radio about the white line in the last corner. According to the Frenchman it's really dangerous as it caused Jarno Trulli's spin.

Only minutes after Bourdais made his complaints, McLaren Mercedes driver Heikki Kovalainen spun at the same place but was able to continue.

In the meantime, Fernando Alonso seems to be in good form. The Renault driver has set the fastest lap in a time of 1:46:959 with 35 minutes left to go in the first practice session. Only 4 minutes later, Felipe Massa improves the Spaniards time as he only does 1:46:415 to complete a lap in his Ferrari.

Lewis Hamilton is the fastest man on track now as Kimi Raikkonen mixes himself in the top 3. Only minutes before the end of the session, Rubens Barrichello spins his car and crashes against the wall. The marshalls are removing the car, the drivers are putting down their final last laps. It is Lewis Hamilton who ends the session on top of the time sheets in front of Felipe Massa and Kimi Raikkonen.


1L. HamiltonMcLaren1:45.51820
2F. MassaFerrari1:45.59823
3K. RäikkönenFerrari1:45.96124
4H. KovalainenMcLaren1:46.46320
5R. KubicaBMW1:46.61823
6N. RosbergWilliams1:46.71025
7F. AlonsoRenault1:46.72529
8N. HeidfeldBMW1:46.96424
9N. Piquet jr.Renault1:47.17530
10J. ButtonHonda1:47.27730
11S. VettelScuderia Toro Rosso1:47.57028
12K. NakajimaWilliams1:47.66223
13T. GlockToyota1:47.70627
14S. BourdaisScuderia Toro Rosso1:48.09716
15D. CoulthardRed Bull Racing1:48.51723
16R. BarrichelloHonda1:48.72519
17A. SutilForce India F11:48.83924
18G. FisichellaForce India F11:48.90625
19J. TrulliToyota1:49.06429
20M. WebberRed Bull Racing1:53.7034