Red Bulls ahead in second free practice at Spa-Francorchamps

By on
F1 Grand Prix, GP Belgium, Circuit de Spa-Francorchampsbe

Max Verstappen was fastest at the end of the second free practice session of the Belgian Grand Prix weekend. The Dutchman was two tenths quicker than Daniel Ricciardo in the second Red Bull, while Nico Hulkenberg was a surprise third for Sahara Force India.

Red Bull surged ahead after an anonymous first practice session, whereas Nico Rosberg, the fastest man of the morning ended up in 6th. Lewis Hamilton meanwhile didn't focus on outright speed at all, instead working on race pace as another new engine fitting ahead of FP2 ensures him of a starting position at the back of the grid.

Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel was 4th, nearly a second down on the pace setter, followed by the second fastest Force India. Kimi Raikkonen was 7th, ahead of Grosjean. The Frenchman had a strong session and along with Gutierrez' 10th fastest time made it a solid day for Haas F1 Team.

Jenson Button in the McLaren completed the top 10 in 9th place, a strong positive after 18th in the morning session.


133Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:48.085-27
23Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing Tag Heuer1:48.341+0.256s27
327Nico HulkenbergForce India Mercedes1:48.657+0.572s30
45Sebastian VettelFerrari1:49.023+0.938s27
511Sergio PerezForce India Mercedes1:49.100+1.015s27
66Nico RosbergMercedes1:49.161+1.076s33
77Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:49.244+1.159s30
88Romain GrosjeanHaas Ferrari1:49.419+1.334s20
922Jenson ButtonMcLaren Honda1:49.419+1.334s23
1021Esteban GutierrezHaas Ferrari1:49.648+1.563s23
1194Pascal WehrleinMrt Mercedes1:49.716+1.631s31
1214Fernando AlonsoMcLaren Honda1:49.772+1.687s30
1344Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:49.782+1.697s33
1426Daniil KvyatToro Rosso Ferrari1:49.916+1.831s25
159Marcus EricssonSauber Ferrari1:50.083+1.998s27
1677Valtteri BottasWilliams Mercedes1:50.151+2.066s19
1719Felipe MassaWilliams Mercedes1:50.157+2.072s29
1855Carlos SainzToro Rosso Ferrari1:50.194+2.109s25
1920Kevin MagnussenRenault1:50.375+2.290s34
2030Jolyon PalmerRenault1:50.562+2.477s32
2131Esteban OconMrt Mercedes1:50.659+2.574s25
2212Felipe NasrSauber Ferrari1:50.719+2.634s24